8 years ago

2015 Aurealis Awards finalists announced

The Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation (WASFF), organisers of the 2015 Aurealis Awards, are delighted to announce the finalists for the Awards.

Awards Convenor P.R. Khangure said WASFF was pleased to be part of the evolving Aurealis Awards structure. “The introduction of three new categories, for novella length fiction (7,500-40,000 words) in the Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror categories, reflects a growth in this length of story. The number of entries in the Sara Douglass Book Series Award, operated for the first time this year, was also fantastic. I’m proud to have been part of the organising team that introduced these new categories for the Awards.

“We are gratified to see that publishing models of all types and sizes are well represented in the shortlists, reflecting the general entry trend.

Judging Coordinator Tehani Wessely said that with over 750 entries across the fifteen categories, and nearly 200 books across 55 series in the inaugural Sara Douglass Book Series Award, the judges had a hugely challenging job.

“As is always the case, the judges agreed that entries were of a very high standard and the final decisions were subject to much debate among the panellists. The competition becomes stronger every year. We would like to thank all the judges for their time and effort judging of these awards.”

Winners of the 2015 Aurealis Awards, the Sara Douglass Book Series Award, and the Convenors’ Award for Excellence will be announced at the Aurealis Awards ceremony, on the evening of Friday 25 March, 2016 as part of the Contact national convention at the Hotel Jen, Brisbane. Details of the evening and a link to the online booking website are available at www.aurealisawards.org


A Week Without Tuesday, Angelica Banks (Allen & Unwin)
The Cut-Out, Jack Heath (Allen & Unwin)
A Single Stone, Meg McKinlay (Walker Books Australia)
Bella and the Wandering House, Meg McKinlay (Fremantle Press)
The Mapmaker Chronicles: Prisoner of the Black Hawk, A.L. Tait (Hachette Australia)


“In Sheep’s Clothing”, Kimberly Gaal (Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #61)
“The Nexus Tree”, Kimberly Gaal (The Never Never Land, CSFG)
“The Miseducation of Mara Lys”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children, Twelfth Planet Press)
“The Heart of the Labyrinth”, DK Mok (In Memory: A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett, Sorin Suciu)
“Blueblood”, Faith Mudge (Hear Me Roar, Ticonderoga Publications)
Welcome to Orphancorp, Marlee Jane Ward (Seizure)


In The Skin of a Monster, Kathryn Barker (Allen & Unwin)
Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club, Alison Goodman (HarperCollins)
The Fire Sermon, Francesca Haig (HarperVoyager)
Day Boy,Trent Jamieson (Text Publishing)
Illuminae, Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Allen & Unwin)
The Hush, Skye Melki-Wagner (Penguin Random House Australia)



Leave a Reply